Does an incoming first-year student have to live on campus?
Yes. NC State says all incoming first-year students are required to live in University Housing, subject to limited exceptions.
Open the sourced answer →SOURCED HOUSING ANSWERS
Direct answers for parents, students, buyers and renters. The answer comes first; sources and freshness are shown on the exact-answer page.

Compare answers across schools →
Yes. NC State says all incoming first-year students are required to live in University Housing, subject to limited exceptions.
Open the sourced answer →Summer admits: summer, fall and spring; fall admits: fall and spring. For spring admits, the retained source is internally inconsistent: its table lists spring, while separate prose describes renewal through a following fall/spring arrangement. Confirm the required duration with NC State Housing before relying on a spring-only commitment.
Open the sourced answer →Not necessarily. NC State describes the University Housing agreement as a full academic-year fall-and-spring agreement; renewing for fall to complete the second required semester commits the student to the following spring as well.
Open the sourced answer →Yes. A demonstrated financial hardship is listed as a possible appeal basis, but decisions are case-by-case and an appeal does not guarantee release.
Open the sourced answer →Yes, when the need cannot be accommodated in on-campus housing, as determined by NC State Disability Resources.
Open the sourced answer →A student may appeal if living at a permanent residence with parent(s) or legal guardian(s) within a 15-mile driving distance of main campus (201 Dan Allen Dr.).
Open the sourced answer →Summer start: June 1; fall semester: June 15; spring semester: November 15.
Open the sourced answer →No. University Housing recommends waiting until notification of the appeal decision; merely submitting an appeal does not guarantee release.
Open the sourced answer →No. The exemption process lists an already-signed off-campus lease or rental agreement as an excluded reason.
Open the sourced answer →After acceptance, submit the University Housing application through MyPack Portal; the housing application is separate from admissions and has no application fee.
Open the sourced answer →NC State lists February 23 as the opening date for the 2026–27 academic-year application and advises applying as soon as possible.
Open the sourced answer →June 1.
Open the sourced answer →Fall assignments are available in late June; spring assignments begin in early November.
Open the sourced answer →All full-time NC State students may live on campus.
Open the sourced answer →Sophomores, juniors, seniors and graduate students may live in Wolf Ridge and Wolf Village; first-years may live in the inner four Wolf Village buildings; E.S. King serves graduate and non-traditional undergraduate students.
Open the sourced answer →Complete a Room Selection Application by the stated deadline; eligibility requires current enrollment for the upcoming spring semester, and students with an active spring assignment receive priority.
Open the sourced answer →The selection assigns bed spaces for the group, and once the leader selects housing, each group member is officially committed to campus housing for the next academic year.
Open the sourced answer →Yes, a resident with a room assignment may cancel at any time, but associated cancellation fees may apply. For first-years before the first class day, the normal cancellation policy does not apply; they must appeal the live-on requirement.
Open the sourced answer →No. University Housing prohibits subleasing; approved study-abroad or out-of-area internship cases may have the agreement suspended without penalty, subject to restrictions.
Open the sourced answer →Start early, research the landlord/property, tour in person, and do not assume a property claiming NC State affiliation is officially part of the university.
Open the sourced answer →Ask whether the lease is joint or individual; its start/end dates; whether subleasing or early termination is allowed and fees; and whether a copy can be reviewed before signing.
Open the sourced answer →Yes. NC State warns that properties open to all qualified applicants may place students with non-students; its Off-Campus Housing Website offers roommate matching for NC State students.
Open the sourced answer →NC State Student Legal Services can assist with reviewing a lease and provide information and insight; the university also points to Student Ombuds Services for conflict prevention, management and resolution.
Open the sourced answer →No. NC State says no university ID, pass or fare is required, and Wolfline is open to the public.
Open the sourced answer →The FAQ says another bus will likely arrive within 6–15 minutes depending on route, but buses can be full at peak class times; PassioGo provides real-time locations and estimated wait times.
Open the sourced answer →39,219 students.
Open the sourced answer →6,086.
Open the sourced answer →The published totals are 38,464 (Fall 2024), 39,259 (Fall 2025), and 39,219 (Fall 2026).
Open the sourced answer →28,437 undergraduate students.
Open the sourced answer →4,767 master’s and 3,517 doctoral students (8,284 combined).
Open the sourced answer →10,099 beds/places, excluding Greek Village beds.
Open the sourced answer →2,464 students.
Open the sourced answer →20 residence halls located throughout campus.
Open the sourced answer →New first-year students must live on campus for their first two semesters, subject to the University’s exceptions/appeals.
Open the sourced answer →The housing agreement is a full academic-year agreement covering fall and spring; a student renewing for fall to fulfill the requirement becomes committed to the following spring as well, totaling three on-campus semesters.
Open the sourced answer →A first-year may appeal based on living at a permanent residence with parent(s) or legal guardian(s) within a 15-mile driving distance of Main Campus (201 Dan Allen Dr.); appeals are case-by-case and not guaranteed.
Open the sourced answer →No: the University says housing after the first-year requirement is optional; the first-year live-on rule does not establish a general off-campus rental mandate.
Open the sourced answer →$3,800 per person per semester.
Open the sourced answer →$4,275 per person per semester.
Open the sourced answer →$5,000 for a 1-bedroom/studio and $4,500 for a 2-, 3-, or 4-bedroom option, per person per semester.
Open the sourced answer →No. Raleigh says the program was dissolved effective Jan. 1, 2017 after NC Senate Bill 326 eliminated municipalities’ ability to operate such a program.
Open the sourced answer →A facility renting individual rooms to the general public to more than four unrelated persons for periods exceeding 30 days, including a rooming house.
Open the sourced answer →If the facility was originally a detached house, total occupants are limited to 6; the minimum tenant rental period exceeds 30 days; and no boardinghouse may be within 1,200 feet of another, measured property-line to property-line.
Open the sourced answer →No more than two persons not related by blood, marriage, or adoption per rooming unit or dwelling unit.
Open the sourced answer →One or more rooms arranged as an independent housekeeping establishment with separate cooking, sleeping, and toilet facilities.
Open the sourced answer →At minimum, the UDO requires a working kitchen sink with hot/cold water, a separate private room with a flush toilet and sink, a separate private room with a bathtub or shower, and heating facilities.
Open the sourced answer →After a Certificate of Occupancy is issued following satisfactory completion and required inspections; Raleigh says a new building cannot legally be occupied before a CO.
Open the sourced answer →Yes. Raleigh says a residential change-of-use permit documents the old and new occupancy/use even when no physical work is planned; depending on scope, a CO or certificate of completion is issued.
Open the sourced answer →Examples include a lot flagged for potential flood hazard, a proposed structure within 100 feet of flood-hazard soils or a FEMA flood-hazard area, FEMA floodplain on/adjacent to the lot, or a road/driveway crossing a flood-hazard area.
Open the sourced answer →A minor study covers flood-hazard-soil development with 25 or more but less than 100 acres of drainage and costs $500 per crossing/encroachment; a major study covers 100+ acres or a FEMA-mapped area and costs $1,000 per crossing/encroachment.
Open the sourced answer →Add monthly debt payments and divide by gross monthly income.
Open the sourced answer →CFPB’s example uses $2,000 of monthly debt and $6,000 of gross monthly income, producing a 33% DTI.
Open the sourced answer →CFPB says loan type affects the required down payment, total loan cost including interest and mortgage insurance, and borrowing/house-price range.
Open the sourced answer →CFPB describes conventional loans as the majority of loans; they typically cost less than FHA loans but can be harder to get.
Open the sourced answer →CFPB says FHA loans have low down payments and are available to borrowers with lower credit scores.
Open the sourced answer →CFPB identifies veterans, servicemembers, and surviving spouses as the relevant borrower group.
Open the sourced answer →CFPB describes USDA loans as for low- to middle-income borrowers in rural areas.
Open the sourced answer →CFPB says a shorter term generally means a higher monthly payment but less interest over the life of the loan; its comparison includes 15- and 30-year terms.
Open the sourced answer →CFPB says the choice affects whether the interest rate and monthly principal-and-interest payment can change.
Open the sourced answer →CFPB says borrowers making a down payment of less than 20% typically need mortgage insurance.
Open the sourced answer →CFPB says Estimated Cash to Close includes the down payment and closing costs, minus any deposit already paid to the seller, seller credits, and other adjustments.
Open the sourced answer →The examples assume a $400,000 primary residence, 10% down, a 700 credit score, a conventional 30-year fixed loan, specified discount points, and a 60-day rate lock.
Open the sourced answer →CFPB says it typically lowers the interest rate and reduces the loan amount, lowering borrowing costs.
Open the sourced answer →CFPB says a shorter term generally has a lower rate and higher monthly payment, while more of the payment builds equity and less goes to interest.
Open the sourced answer →CFPB defines it as the annual cost of borrowing expressed as a percentage; it does not include fees or other charges.
Open the sourced answer →For FY2027, the Wake County rate is $0.5371 per $100 assessed value and Raleigh's adopted city rate is $0.3720 per $100, for a base city+county total of $0.9091 per $100 for Raleigh parcels in Wake County before any applicable special district. North Carolina law generally assesses taxable real property at true/market value. The Hillsborough Street Municipal Service District publishes an additional $0.13 per $100 where applicable. Exact parcel jurisdiction, municipal service district, exemptions/classifications and current assessed value control the actual bill; do not universalize the Hillsborough Street MSD surcharge.
Open the sourced answer →Exact parcel jurisdiction, municipal service district, exemptions/classifications and current assessed value control the actual bill; do not universalize the Hillsborough Street MSD surcharge.
Open the sourced answer →NC DOI explains that homeowners policies can protect the home and personal belongings against specified perils such as fire, windstorm, hail and theft, subject to the policy.
Open the sourced answer →NC DOI says package policies can include personal liability and medical payments as well as property damage and additional living expenses.
Open the sourced answer →No. NC DOI says insurer underwriting guidelines may exclude windstorm or hail; ask the insurer about the specific policy and any separate coverage.
Open the sourced answer →NC DOI says homeowners insurance policies do not cover flood damage; separate flood coverage should be considered.
Open the sourced answer →NC DOI says a lender may require flood insurance if the home is in a floodplain.
Open the sourced answer →Yes. NC DOI warns that being outside a designated floodplain does not mean a home will never incur flood damage.
Open the sourced answer →NC DOI describes a 30-day waiting period before coverage becomes effective and notes exceptions; confirm timing for the transaction.
Open the sourced answer →NC DOI explains that homeowners policies primarily apply to owner-occupied single-family dwellings, with modifications for apartments and condominiums; confirm the right policy with the insurer.
Open the sourced answer →A student must establish legal residence (domicile) in North Carolina, maintain it for at least 12 consecutive months before the term, have residentiary presence, and intend to make NC a permanent home rather than being here solely for college.
Open the sourced answer →No. RDS says NC is not a checklist state and housing documentation is not a domiciliary act used to establish 12 months; a home purchase alone therefore does not automatically establish tuition residency.
Open the sourced answer →The basic prerequisite is living in NC for the full prior year—365 days—as the primary and permanent residence; the applicant must also show domiciliary acts.
Open the sourced answer →Generally the parent(s)’ information controls. RDS says a dependent student’s residence is based on the parent’s residence unless the student demonstrates the applicable financial-independence conditions.
Open the sourced answer →Not automatically. RDS says the person must be in NC for a purpose other than going to college, and must show permanent ties and abandonment of a prior domicile.
Open the sourced answer →No. RDS describes NC as “not a checklist state”; it weighs the cluster of significant events and documentation under a preponderance-of-evidence standard.
Open the sourced answer →For an initial consideration request, RDS says failure to submit required documentation before the 25-day deadline changes a preliminary resident status to non-resident; for reconsideration/appeal, the request can be cancelled or remain non-resident.
Open the sourced answer →No. RDS says North Carolina law clearly distinguishes legal resident from resident for tuition purposes.
Open the sourced answer →NC State says Undergraduate, Graduate, Agricultural Institute and Non-degree students must request classification from the Residency Determination Service (RDS) in compliance with state law.
Open the sourced answer →On a weekend or university holiday, the visitor may stop at the Joyner Visitor Center for a brochure from the bin outside.
Open the sourced answer →Admissions says prospective first-year and transfer students can attend an information session and student-led tour Monday–Friday starting at Talley Student Union; the Main Campus visit is approximately two hours.
Open the sourced answer →Registered self-guided tours are available Monday–Friday, with arrival anytime between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m.
Open the sourced answer →Yes. NC State’s visit tips identify free guest Wi-Fi on campus named “ncsu-guest.”
Open the sourced answer →Permits are required Monday–Friday, 7 a.m.–5 p.m. in faculty/staff, commuter and pay-area locations; residential permits apply Monday–Thursday 7 a.m.–midnight and Friday 7 a.m.–5 p.m.
Open the sourced answer →$3 for the first hour or any portion, $2 for each additional hour or portion, with a $15 daily maximum; ParkMobile adds a $0.35 transaction fee.
Open the sourced answer →Visitors needing short-term parking may use 30-minute loading-zone spaces at no cost, subject to the posted/location rules.
Open the sourced answer →No. NC State Transportation says parking is on-demand because lots are set up as zones, so spaces cannot be reserved in advance.
Open the sourced answer →$2.50 per hour for the first four hours of connection; after four hours, $10 per hour prorated by the minute.
Open the sourced answer →Aug. 13–15: 8 a.m.–5 p.m. by appointment at the assigned hall/apartment check-in location, or 5–8 p.m. at its service desk; Aug. 16: 8 a.m.–8 p.m. at the service desk without an appointment.
Open the sourced answer →Use the directions supplied by NC State Transportation rather than GPS because traffic flows change; use reserved spaces only for unloading during the appointment, then move to designated long-term parking.
Open the sourced answer →At check-in, residents need their student ID or another government-issued photo ID to receive room/suite/apartment keys; a government-issued photo ID is also required for a new student to pick up the OneCard.
Open the sourced answer →With advance approval for Aug. 11–12, an early-arrival fee of $50 per night applies; arrivals before Aug. 11 are not possible, and the request deadline shown is 8 a.m. Monday, Aug. 3.
Open the sourced answer →Allow five business days to process a new service request. New accounts also require a $50 service-initiation fee per meter and a $90 deposit.
Open the sourced answer →Open an account with the City’s New Account Application (or transfer via the Transfer Service Application); curbside recycling for single-family residential customers is every other week, with carts placed by 6 a.m. on the designated day.
Open the sourced answer →A resident in a controlled residential permit area must provide proof of residence, ownership or tenancy; the page gives a $30-per-permit-per-calendar-year price and says the permit cycle changes July 1, 2026 to July 1–June 30.
Open the sourced answer →10291 — Total employees; reporting period Current.
Open the sourced answer →2629 — Faculty; reporting period Fall 2025.
Open the sourced answer →7531 — Staff; reporting period Fall 2025.
Open the sourced answer →items: name: North Carolina State University primary campus; type: MAIN_CAMPUS; city: Raleigh; state: NC; housing relevance: Primary CollegeHousing.ai Faculty & Staff employment node.; relationship to market: PRIMARY; commute relevance: True; verification note: No inferred coordinates were inserted; official-address/geocoding pass remains separate.; name: Centennial Campus; type: RESEARCH_CAMPUS; location: Raleigh, NC; housing relevance: Major research/engineering work campus; commute relevance: True; name: Centennial Biomedical Campus; type: MEDICAL_CAMPUS; location: Raleigh, NC; housing relevance: Veterinary/biomedical employment node; commute relevance: True
Open the sourced answer →items: name: Centennial Biomedical Campus; relationship: university veterinary/biomedical campus; location: Raleigh, NC; relocation relevance: Material employee/clinical/research/professional-school housing access node.
Open the sourced answer →items: name: Centennial Campus; type: RESEARCH_CAMPUS; location: Raleigh, NC; housing relevance: Major research/engineering work campus
Open the sourced answer →items: program name: EHRA Relocation Allowance; audience: Eligible permanent full-time faculty and EHRA non-faculty initial appointments; eligibility: Business necessity, discretionary funds and delegated approval; not every offer includes an allowance.; availability: Current NC State non-salary compensation policy.; financial assistance type: Taxable discretionary relocation allowance covering moving, house-hunting and temporary housing.; program name: Dual Career Academic Hiring Assistance; audience: Academic dual-career/spousal/partner hires; availability: Provost partners with colleges to support dual-career hiring requests.; financial assistance type: Employment assistance; no job guarantee.; note: Relocation allowance and dual-career assistance are retained as distinct resources.
Open the sourced answer →items: program name: Western Manor faculty/staff housing; audience: Primarily postdocs and NC State faculty/staff at .5 FTE or greater, active Research Scholars or Postdoctoral employees; current availability: University Housing reserves spaces for faculty/staff; Western Manor offers studios and one-/two-bedroom apartments.; ownership type: University Housing employee housing.; note: Faculty and staff housing is space-limited and eligibility-based; it is not represented as a universal guarantee.
Open the sourced answer →NC State’s university-hosted off-campus housing portal provides rental listings for students, faculty and staff; listings are a service to property owners and university users rather than a university endorsement.
Open the sourced answer →items: program name: NC State Guest Housing; audience: Visiting faculty/staff and university-sponsored guests; availability: Current reservations; minimum 2 nights, maximum 30 nights during an academic year.; university owned: True; program name: Relocation allowance — temporary housing; audience: Eligible EHRA hires with an approved relocation allowance; availability: Temporary housing is an explicitly allowable relocation cost.; university owned: False; note: Guest Housing is actual university lodging; relocation allowance is financial assistance.
Open the sourced answer →items: program name: WolfPerks SMARTMOVE / Prosperity Home Mortgage; audience: Eligible NC State permanent employees using WolfPerks; availability: Current real-estate benefit may include a home-sale/purchase cash rebate and up to $750 off mortgage closing costs with Prosperity Home Mortgage.; financial assistance type: Third-party employee real-estate/mortgage benefit; not university financing or a guaranteed loan.; note: Employee benefit is third-party and conditional; no university loan guarantee is asserted.
Open the sourced answer →major transit: ; university shuttles: ; parking context: name: FY 2026-27 Employee Parking; employee relevance: Current employee annual/non-expiring permits include B $576, C $423, CD $522, V $228, U $576 and assigned-space options; free Park and Ride is available to employees. Assignments depend on availability.; multi campus considerations: name: Centennial Campus; location: Raleigh, NC; type: RESEARCH_CAMPUS; name: Centennial Biomedical Campus; location: Raleigh, NC; type: MEDICAL_CAMPUS; note: Centennial and Centennial Biomedical duty stations can materially affect parking/transit choices; no exact commute times are inferred.
Open the sourced answer →name: University Park / Hillsborough Street; jurisdiction: City of Raleigh; campus relationship: NC State's university-hosted off-campus marketplace identifies University Park as a search geography and current inventory on Hillsborough Street sits immediately adjacent to Main Campus.; housing types: student-oriented apartments; apartments; single-family/shared houses; audience fit: students; parent buyers; investors; faculty/staff; name: Gorman Street / Gormans-Burt / Avent Ferry; jurisdiction: City of Raleigh; campus relationship: NC State's off-campus marketplace identifies Gorman Street, Gormans-Burt and Avent Ferry as housing-search geographies; current Wolfline/GoRaleigh service connects the corridor with campus.; housing types: apartments; townhomes; single-family/shared houses; duplexes; audience fit: students; parent buyers; investors; faculty/staff; name: Method Road; jurisdiction: City of Raleigh; campus relationship: NC State's off-campus marketplace identifies Method Road as a housing-search geography; GoRaleigh Route 12 provides campus access through Method/Kent/Gorman/Avent Ferry corridors.; housing types: apartments; townhomes; single-family/shared houses; audience fit: students; parent buyers; investors; faculty/staff; name: 27606 / 27607 campus-area market geographies; jurisdiction: Raleigh / Wake County; campus relationship: ZIP-level market geographies used for representative rent/value benchmarks around Main/Centennial campus and the Avent Ferry/Western Manor corridor; ZIPs are not official neighborhoods.; housing types: single-family homes; apartments/multifamily; townhomes; condominiums; audience fit: parent buyers; investors; faculty/staff
Open the sourced answer →service: Wolfline; details: NC State's bus system is fare-free to students and the general public with no university ID, pass or fare required. It serves all three campuses, park-and-ride lots, University Housing and private apartment complexes along designated routes.; service: GoRaleigh / NC State GoPass; details: Fall 2026 NC State guidance identifies Route 11 service from Tryon/Trailwood to Central Campus and Route 12 through Method, Kent, Kaplan, Gorman and Avent Ferry to campus; Routes 4, 9, 11L and 27L also support the area.
Open the sourced answer →student rules: Fall 2026 campus permits are limited and prioritized by completed credit hours. First-year residents can purchase residential permits only through the lottery. Resident Storage and common residential permits are $240 per fall semester; commuter overnight parking is not a general entitlement and exact permit-zone rules apply.; employee rules: FY2026-27 employee daily permits include $3 Perimeter, $5 C/CD and $7 B; annual examples include C $423, CD $522, B $576, V $228, L $176, with Park-and-Ride free for all employees. Payroll-deducted annual permits do not expire while credit-card annual permits run July 1-June 30.; property rules: Off-campus deeded/assigned parking, guest parking and city-street restrictions are property/location specific.
Open the sourced answer →1496 — ; reporting period not stated. ; 1592 — ; reporting period not stated.
Open the sourced answer →442142 — ; reporting period not stated. ; 721885 — ; reporting period not stated.
Open the sourced answer →student-oriented apartments / shared housing; standard apartments and multifamily; townhomes; single-family houses; condominiums; duplexes and small multifamily
Open the sourced answer →NC State’s off-campus housing directory offers separate campus filters for Main Campus, Centennial Campus and the College of Veterinary Medicine, so housing can be compared against the employee’s actual duty location.
Open the sourced answer →North Carolina DOI states standard homeowners policies do not cover flood/rising-water damage; separate flood coverage should be evaluated even outside mapped floodplains and may be lender-required in a floodplain.; NC DOI notes windstorm/hail coverage can be excluded by underwriting/policy terms; review the declarations, deductibles and endorsements for the exact property.; Building type, roof/condition, claims history, replacement cost, liability exposure and any condo/HOA master policy materially affect underwriting.
Open the sourced answer →Raleigh's current UDO defines a household as one or more persons occupying a dwelling unit, but when not all occupants are related by blood, marriage or adoption, a household may contain no more than four unrelated persons. A facility renting individual rooms to more than four unrelated persons for periods over 30 days is a separate boardinghouse/group-living use, with Raleigh's boardinghouse standards limiting total occupants to six and imposing additional use conditions.
Open the sourced answer →Raleigh's former Rental Dwelling Registration program was dissolved effective January 1, 2017 after North Carolina Senate Bill 326; there is no current universal Raleigh rental-dwelling registration program.; Ordinary rentals remain subject to current zoning/use, housing/building codes, lease law and any private HOA/condo/deed restrictions.; By-bedroom or group-living strategies must be screened against Raleigh's household/boardinghouse use definitions rather than assuming a general rental license authorizes the use.
Open the sourced answer →No general City of Raleigh or NC State rule identified that limits ordinary private off-campus residential ownership to a particular buyer class.; Exact title, HOA/condominium/deed restrictions, zoning/use, tax district, financing and rental/STR covenants remain property-specific.
Open the sourced answer →Raleigh defines compensated lodging of 30 days or less as short-term rental. STRs are a Limited Use in specified zoning districts and every operator must obtain a zoning permit. The permit number must appear in advertising and at the property; operators must keep a lodger list for three years and comply with fire/building/housing and tax requirements.
Open the sourced answer →NC State University Housing reserves faculty/staff space. Western Manor on Avent Ferry Road is primarily for eligible faculty/staff, postdocs and certain scholars; it offers studio, one- and two-bedroom apartments and is convenient to Main and Centennial campuses.; Western Manor faculty/staff applicants must provide employment documentation; temporary employees are not eligible. Parking requires a permit, and Wolfline/GoRaleigh/GoTriangle serve the area.; FY2026-27 employee parking and fare-free Wolfline provide current commute-cost context; off-campus housing remains address-specific.
Open the sourced answer →