How long must Duke undergraduates generally live on campus?
Duke requires students to live on campus for their first three years (six semesters), to the extent housing is available.
Open the sourced answer →SOURCED HOUSING ANSWERS
Direct answers for parents, students, buyers and renters. The answer comes first; sources and freshness are shown on the exact-answer page.

Compare answers across schools →
Duke requires students to live on campus for their first three years (six semesters), to the extent housing is available.
Open the sourced answer →Yes. Duke says semesters spent in “study away” programs continue to count toward the three-year residency requirement.
Open the sourced answer →Duke guarantees students the opportunity to live on campus during the fourth year, but notes that construction/renovation can cause a temporary shortfall, an off-campus lottery, or suspension of the senior guarantee.
Open the sourced answer →Students may choose off campus after completing their third year; they must notify Housing and Residence Life in writing by the published deadlines.
Open the sourced answer →A transfer student seeking off-campus senior-year housing must send Duke proof of semesters lived on campus at the prior institution; Duke identifies housing@duke.edu for submission.
Open the sourced answer →Yes. Duke says returning students remain subject to the policy requiring three academic years/six semesters as a Duke student. A returning student who fails to request housing receives an assignment and is financially responsible for that term.
Open the sourced answer →Full-time undergraduates who have lived on campus fewer than eight semesters are eligible. Students entering a ninth or later semester may request housing, but assignment is only after students covered by the four-year guarantee.
Open the sourced answer →Duke describes first-year housing as a residential community exclusively for first-year students on East Campus; first-year students are assigned randomly using lifestyle preferences from the application.
Open the sourced answer →The New-to-Duke application is scheduled to open June 1, 2026, with a June 18, 2026 priority deadline.
Open the sourced answer →The application requires agreement to the dining contract and the housing license/terms before it can be completed.
Open the sourced answer →A resident requesting release must notify HRL in writing. If released after occupancy begins for an applicable reason, the refund is prorated using the later of written notification or vacating date.
Open the sourced answer →If Duke revokes a license for conduct and the student remains enrolled, the student remains financially responsible for housing and other charges for the full license term.
Open the sourced answer →No. A room/apartment exchange requires advance HRL approval, inspection of both spaces, return of old keys, and signing for new keys; an unofficial change can lead to license revocation and does not remove payment obligations.
Open the sourced answer →Complete the electronic room-condition report within two days of occupancy and report immediate maintenance needs to the HRL campus office. Unlisted damage beyond normal wear can be charged at checkout.
Open the sourced answer →Full-year assignments run July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027; spring-only assignments run January 1, 2027–June 30, 2027. Once assigned, the student is bound for the full license length.
Open the sourced answer →Duke says release is granted only if the student is no longer an active Duke student. Once selected, the assignment generally cannot be canceled; refunds are calculated from occupancy dates.
Open the sourced answer →Duke’s off-campus FAQ describes a signed lease as a legal, binding contract; in most cases the landlord may hold the student responsible for rent through the remainder of the lease or until it is re-rented.
Open the sourced answer →Duke says a student who cannot prove the landlord’s income requirements independently will likely need a co-signer; not all landlords accept one, and international students should expect many properties to require a U.S.-based or U.S.-citizen co-signer.
Open the sourced answer →Duke’s Off-Campus Housing Website is its central resource for nearby rentals; its map search can filter neighborhood, price, unit type, move-in date, and lease duration, and students can create roommate-search profiles.
Open the sourced answer →Duke says undergraduates generally start considering off-campus housing in fall of junior year and HRL requires applications in early February of junior year; fall leases may remain available through summer.
Open the sourced answer →Students and other listed Duke populations qualify if they have a Duke NetID and a Duke email ending in @duke.edu.
Open the sourced answer →GoPass provides unlimited rides on GoTriangle and GoRaleigh. Duke’s page says GoDurham and GoCary are fare-free for 2025–26 without a boarding credential; the separate Duke housing transportation page says GoDurham is fare-free through 2026.
Open the sourced answer →On-campus parking requires a student parking pass. Graduate housing guidance specifically says a permit is needed for the 300 Swift apartment garage; some private complexes and neighborhoods may also require their own permits.
Open the sourced answer →The City of Durham tenant manual says tenants must pay rent on time, avoid damage, notify the landlord of needed repairs/services, and give advance notice before moving out as required by the lease or applicable tenancy rule.
Open the sourced answer →The Durham tenant manual recommends a thorough move-in inspection, a signed and dated written record, photographs, and retaining a copy; it also says a tenant may ask Durham Neighborhood Improvement Services for a free inspection.
Open the sourced answer →Duke reports 6,525 undergraduate students, 10,800 graduate and professional students, and 17,325 total students for fall 2025.
Open the sourced answer →Duke’s Facts page labels the undergraduate section Fall 2024 and reports 53% women, 16% North Carolina residents, and 97% returning after first year.
Open the sourced answer →Duke reports 36 residence halls and apartments among 245 Durham-campus buildings (academic/research 118, medical 66, athletics/recreation 25, residence 36).
Open the sourced answer →Duke says undergraduate students must live on campus for three years; the first-year page describes the requirement as students living on campus for three years.
Open the sourced answer →A transfer student seeking off-campus senior-year housing must submit Duke proof of semesters lived on campus at the previous institution.
Open the sourced answer →Duke says it generally has space to guarantee housing for the fourth year if a student chooses to remain on campus; this is phrased as a general practice, not an unconditional guarantee in every circumstance.
Open the sourced answer →Full-time undergraduates who have lived on campus for fewer than eight semesters are eligible. Students entering a ninth or later semester may request housing but are assigned only if space remains after students covered by the four-year housing guarantee.
Open the sourced answer →Per student, Duke lists: single $7,638/semester ($15,276 academic year); double $5,780/$11,560; apartment private bedroom $9,495/$18,990; apartment shared bedroom $7,638/$15,276.
Open the sourced answer →The page lists first-year move-in August 15, upperclass move-in August 21–23, winter break noon December 15–January 2, and move-out May 3; approved students may remain through May 10 at noon, with final move-out at noon May 10.
Open the sourced answer →Duke says housing eligibility is forfeited when a student withdraws or is academically dismissed; HRL also cancels assignments based on dean attrition or study-abroad participation information.
Open the sourced answer →Owners in the City of Durham with a rental property having three or more Minimum Housing Code violations in the prior year must register after written notification from Neighborhood Improvement Services.
Open the sourced answer →The PRIP FAQ lists $200 per year for a property with two or fewer rental units and $400 per year for a property with three or more rental units.
Open the sourced answer →All rental properties in the designated area are subject to PRIP inspections; inspections begin in priority areas based on a history of many resident requests.
Open the sourced answer →The FAQ lists three or more verified violations within 12 months, a complaint or inspection request, actual City knowledge of an unsafe condition, or violations visible from outside.
Open the sourced answer →Yes. A tenant concerned about possible Minimum Housing Code violations may request an inspection at any time regardless of location within the City; a rental owner may also request one at any time.
Open the sourced answer →The PRIP FAQ says there is no charge for the initial inspection or the first re-inspection.
Open the sourced answer →“P” means allowed by right subject to other UDO requirements; “L” means allowed by right only if additional referenced requirements are met; “M” or “m” means a special-use permit is required. A blank cell means the use is not allowed in that district.
Open the sourced answer →Yes. The UDO says permitted uses remain subject to restrictions and prohibitions in an approved development plan; it also describes development-plan approval as a separate use-table pathway for marked uses.
Open the sourced answer →Where BFE data is provided, the regulatory flood-protection elevation is the BFE plus two feet of freeboard. The UDO also defines substantial improvement as work costing at least 50% of the structure’s pre-work market value, subject to stated exceptions.
Open the sourced answer →The UDO states that if a structure is partially in a Special Flood Hazard Area, the entire structure must meet new-construction and substantial-improvement requirements.
Open the sourced answer →Durham County says the 2025 reappraisal is effective January 1, 2025, and the appraised value is its opinion of full market value as of that date based on recent countywide market information.
Open the sourced answer →The County appraisal page says its Real Property Records Search provides ownership as of January 1, improvement and land values, a property photo, sales for the last three years, the tax bill, and associated GIS mapping information.
Open the sourced answer →The County directs owners to follow the instructions on the Notice of Value Change and provides an appeal pathway through Tax Administration.
Open the sourced answer →Durham County’s 2026 tax table lists the City of Durham BID row at $0.5071 municipal tax plus $0.5792 county tax, for $1.0863 per $100 assessed value. This row applies only where that BID classification applies; verify the parcel.
Open the sourced answer →No. The fetched official page identifies change of use as a process in which site changes may be required to meet zoning requirements; it does not approve any particular property.
Open the sourced answer →Add monthly debt payments and divide by gross monthly income.
Open the sourced answer →CFPB’s example uses $2,000 of monthly debt and $6,000 of gross monthly income, producing a 33% DTI.
Open the sourced answer →CFPB says loan type affects the required down payment, total loan cost including interest and mortgage insurance, and borrowing/house-price range.
Open the sourced answer →CFPB describes conventional loans as the majority of loans; they typically cost less than FHA loans but can be harder to get.
Open the sourced answer →CFPB says FHA loans have low down payments and are available to borrowers with lower credit scores.
Open the sourced answer →CFPB identifies veterans, servicemembers, and surviving spouses as the relevant borrower group.
Open the sourced answer →CFPB describes USDA loans as for low- to middle-income borrowers in rural areas.
Open the sourced answer →CFPB says a shorter term generally means a higher monthly payment but less interest over the life of the loan; its comparison includes 15- and 30-year terms.
Open the sourced answer →CFPB says the choice affects whether the interest rate and monthly principal-and-interest payment can change.
Open the sourced answer →CFPB says borrowers making a down payment of less than 20% typically need mortgage insurance.
Open the sourced answer →CFPB says Estimated Cash to Close includes the down payment and closing costs, minus any deposit already paid to the seller, seller credits, and other adjustments.
Open the sourced answer →The examples assume a $400,000 primary residence, 10% down, a 700 credit score, a conventional 30-year fixed loan, specified discount points, and a 60-day rate lock.
Open the sourced answer →CFPB says it typically lowers the interest rate and reduces the loan amount, lowering borrowing costs.
Open the sourced answer →CFPB says a shorter term generally has a lower rate and higher monthly payment, while more of the payment builds equity and less goes to interest.
Open the sourced answer →CFPB defines it as the annual cost of borrowing expressed as a percentage; it does not include fees or other charges.
Open the sourced answer →For FY2026-27, Durham County's countywide property-tax rate is $0.5792 per $100 assessed value and the City of Durham rate is $0.4371 per $100, for a base combined City+County rate of $1.0163 per $100 before any applicable BID or other special district. Verify parcel jurisdiction, assessed value, exemptions and any special-district/BID charges before estimating an actual tax bill.
Open the sourced answer →Verify parcel jurisdiction, assessed value, exemptions and any special-district/BID charges before estimating an actual tax bill.
Open the sourced answer →NC DOI explains that homeowners policies can protect the home and personal belongings against specified perils such as fire, windstorm, hail and theft, subject to the policy.
Open the sourced answer →NC DOI says package policies can include personal liability and medical payments as well as property damage and additional living expenses.
Open the sourced answer →No. NC DOI says insurer underwriting guidelines may exclude windstorm or hail; ask the insurer about the specific policy and any separate coverage.
Open the sourced answer →NC DOI says homeowners insurance policies do not cover flood damage; separate flood coverage should be considered.
Open the sourced answer →NC DOI says a lender may require flood insurance if the home is in a floodplain.
Open the sourced answer →Yes. NC DOI warns that being outside a designated floodplain does not mean a home will never incur flood damage.
Open the sourced answer →NC DOI describes a 30-day waiting period before coverage becomes effective and notes exceptions; confirm timing for the transaction.
Open the sourced answer →NC DOI explains that homeowners policies primarily apply to owner-occupied single-family dwellings, with modifications for apartments and condominiums; confirm the right policy with the insurer.
Open the sourced answer →Duke says most begin after accepting admission, typically April–June; options remain through August but choices diminish as fall approaches.
Open the sourced answer →Duke identifies its Off-Campus Housing website as the central resource; its map search can filter neighborhood, price range, unit type, move-in date and lease duration.
Open the sourced answer →Duke states a signed lease is a legal, binding contract; generally the landlord can hold the tenant responsible for rent through the remainder of the lease (or until it is re-rented).
Open the sourced answer →300 Swift offers a limited number of fully furnished two-bedroom apartments for all graduate and professional students; Duke separately states only Duke graduate students are eligible, while family co-residence is only eligible at Lancaster Apartments.
Open the sourced answer →The student must be fully admitted to Duke. One application can express preferences for both 300 Swift and Lancaster Commons; assignments depend on availability and financial need and a top-location assignment is not guaranteed.
Open the sourced answer →Full-year assignments run July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027; spring-only assignments run January 1–June 30, 2027. Duke says release is granted only if the resident is no longer an active Duke student, and the resident is bound for the license length.
Open the sourced answer →Duke’s housing timeline says June–August is for deciding whether to move/rent/purchase furniture, changing the postal address and setting up utilities; July–August is the move to Durham.
Open the sourced answer →RDS says the applicant must establish NC legal residence/domicile, maintain it for at least 12 consecutive months before the term, have residentiary presence, and intend NC as a permanent home rather than being there solely for college.
Open the sourced answer →No. RDS says housing documentation is not a domiciliary act used to establish 12 months; residency is decided from the overall evidence of primary, permanent domicile, not a single act. Thus a home purchase alone is not sufficient on the fetched official guidance.
Open the sourced answer →RDS says residency is generally based on parent information. The law presumes the student’s residence is the parent/legal guardian’s unless the student proves self-support and self-maintained NC domicile; dependent students’ residence is based on the parent.
Open the sourced answer →RDS says a student generally must be at least 19, meet most educational/living expenses without outside assistance, receive less than half of support from others, and claim themself on tax returns rather than being claimed by another.
Open the sourced answer →The student must physically live in NC for the last full year/365 days as a primary, permanent residence and take domiciliary actions showing that status for the past 12 months.
Open the sourced answer →No. RDS says NC is not a checklist state; it weighs a cluster/preponderance of significant events and the applicant’s information and documentation to determine domicile.
Open the sourced answer →Not by itself. RDS defines domicile as a permanent dwelling place and says a person living in NC for a temporary purpose such as college, intending to live elsewhere afterward, is not a resident for tuition purposes.
Open the sourced answer →For an initial request, RDS says failure to submit required documentation by the 25-day deadline changes a resident status to non-resident; for reconsideration/appeal, the request is cancelled and remains non-resident.
Open the sourced answer →Duke schedules first-year Move-In Day for Saturday, August 15, 2026, with all first-year move-in listed 8:00 a.m.–3:30 p.m.; students move in during assigned residence-hall windows.
Open the sourced answer →Every participating vehicle must display the assigned parking placard, printed from the HRL email sent July 29, on the dashboard; it must remain visible while on East Campus.
Open the sourced answer →Duke says C1 runs continuously; an East Campus–Science Drive Garage loop runs continuously until 5:00 p.m.; and a limited Science Drive Garage–West Campus shuttle runs 3:30–6:45 p.m.
Open the sourced answer →Visitor parking is available in garages and lots. Garages have 24-hour automated pay stations and mobile Pay-on-Phone; visitor lots use pay-by-space equipment.
Open the sourced answer →Most 2026–27 student permit sales begin June 10, 2026; Duke recommends purchase by July 26 for fall arrival. Permits are assigned, cannot be shared, are tied to vehicle/license plate, and must be displayed whenever parked on campus.
Open the sourced answer →Duke lists free student Duke buses, Duke Vans, and GoPass for unlimited rides on GoDurham, GoTriangle and GoRaleigh; service/fare conditions can vary by system and date.
Open the sourced answer →The Fall 2026 C1 route begins Monday, August 10, 2026, runs between East and West at 10-minute intervals during the semester, and leaves West Campus last at 12:20 a.m. Monday–Friday. The weekday timetable is 6:30 a.m.–12:27 a.m.
Open the sourced answer →The City’s application requires the renter to attach the lease’s first page showing tenants/location and the signature page signed by tenant(s) and owner(s). It requires at least one business day; service is not provided weekends or holidays.
Open the sourced answer →The Durham application lists a $50 service-initiation fee and a $100 deposit for a 5/8-inch meter, billed on the first bill. A possible waiver review requires an acceptable letter of credit from a prior provider showing good payment history within the last 12 months, received within 30 days of account start.
Open the sourced answer →Within 60 days of establishing permanent residence, a person who plans to operate a motor vehicle must obtain an NC driver license and title/register vehicles with NCDMV.
Open the sourced answer →17634 — All Duke University faculty and staff; excludes Duke University Health System employees; reporting period November 1, 2025. Current Factbook table was visually inspected; DUHS is explicitly excluded.
Open the sourced answer →4427 — All faculty; reporting period November 1, 2025.
Open the sourced answer →13207 — Staff; reporting period November 1, 2025.
Open the sourced answer →items: name: Duke University primary campus; type: MAIN_CAMPUS; city: Durham; state: NC; housing relevance: Primary CollegeHousing.ai Faculty & Staff employment node.; relationship to market: PRIMARY; commute relevance: True; verification note: No inferred coordinates were inserted; official-address/geocoding pass remains separate.; name: Duke Medical Center; type: MEDICAL_CAMPUS; location: Durham, NC; housing relevance: Major academic medical work node; commute relevance: True; name: East Campus; type: ADDITIONAL_CAMPUS; location: Durham, NC; housing relevance: Major campus employment node; commute relevance: True; name: West Campus; type: ADDITIONAL_CAMPUS; location: Durham, NC; housing relevance: Major campus employment node; commute relevance: True
Open the sourced answer →items: name: Duke Medical Center; relationship: university academic medicine + separately identified Duke Health entities; location: Durham, NC; relocation relevance: Material employee/clinical/research/professional-school housing access node.
Open the sourced answer →items: ; note: Targeted current review found research concentrated across Duke's existing campus/medical nodes; no separate Duke-owned research campus/park requiring an additional housing commute node was identified.
Open the sourced answer →items: program name: Moving & Relocation reimbursement; audience: New Duke University or Duke University Health System faculty/staff when approved; eligibility: Under certain conditions and with appropriate approval, hiring departments/schools may reimburse moving costs.; availability: Current Finance policy; financial assistance type: Taxable relocation/moving supplemental payroll payment; discretionary.
Open the sourced answer →items: program name: Faculty-in-Residence; audience: Selected Duke faculty; current availability: 2026-27 program has 12 faculty members living in East Campus residential apartments/residence halls.; ownership type: University residential housing tied to Faculty-in-Residence role.; program name: Residence Coordinator live-in housing; audience: Professional Residence Coordinators; current availability: Role-specific live-in professional staff housing in residence halls/quads.; ownership type: University residential housing tied to Housing employment.; note: Both programs are role-specific; they do not establish general employee housing entitlement.
Open the sourced answer →items: program name: Duke Off-Campus Housing Website; audience: Students, faculty, staff and visiting scholars; availability: Current central housing-search resource; guest registration available for incoming faculty/staff.
Open the sourced answer →items: program name: Duke Off-Campus Visiting Scholar / short-term furnished housing resources; audience: Faculty/staff and visiting scholars; availability: Current Duke off-campus portal explicitly directs users to short-term/furnished housing resources and current faculty/staff listings.; university owned: False; note: Housing-search resource; not guaranteed university-owned temporary housing.
Open the sourced answer →Duke Finance says approved relocation or moving payments for new faculty and staff are issued as supplemental payroll payments rather than direct payments to vendors; the policy treats those payments as taxable income.
Open the sourced answer →major transit: ; university shuttles: ; parking context: ; multi campus considerations: name: Duke Medical Center; location: Durham, NC; type: MEDICAL_CAMPUS; name: East Campus; location: Durham, NC; type: ADDITIONAL_CAMPUS; name: West Campus; location: Durham, NC; type: ADDITIONAL_CAMPUS; note: No exact neighborhood-to-campus travel times are stored; the site mapping layer should calculate 10/20/30-minute estimates.
Open the sourced answer →name: Erwin / LaSalle; jurisdiction: City of Durham; campus relationship: Duke identifies Erwin/LaSalle as the closest off-campus neighborhood to West Campus and notes direct proximity to Duke bus service.; housing types: apartments; condominiums; townhomes; single-family homes; audience fit: students; parent buyers; investors; faculty/staff; name: Trinity Heights / Duke East Campus; jurisdiction: City of Durham; campus relationship: Duke identifies Trinity Heights as abutting East Campus with historic student rental homes and access to the C1 bus.; housing types: single-family homes; duplexes; small multifamily; apartments; audience fit: students; parent buyers; investors; faculty/staff; name: Old West Durham / Ninth Street; jurisdiction: City of Durham; campus relationship: Current Duke/Zillow market geography west of East Campus and near Duke West Campus; useful for campus-proximate housing analysis, not a parcel-level zoning conclusion.; housing types: single-family homes; duplexes; apartments; mixed-use residential; audience fit: students; parent buyers; investors; faculty/staff; name: Downtown Durham / West End / Burch Avenue; jurisdiction: City of Durham; campus relationship: Current Duke and Zillow sources identify these nearby urban neighborhoods as practical off-campus housing geographies with access to Duke/local transit.; housing types: apartments; condominiums; single-family homes; mixed-use residential; audience fit: students; investors; faculty/staff; relocating households
Open the sourced answer →Duke operates campus bus/shuttle routes including C1 East-West and LaSalle Loop. The Fall 2026 C1 schedule began August 10, 2026 with East-West service throughout the day, and Duke's GoPass provides unlimited GoDurham, GoTriangle and GoRaleigh rides to students and eligible faculty/staff.
Open the sourced answer →Duke publishes 2026-27 parking permit classes and rates by facility/proximity. Examples include remote-rate permits at $243/year, surface-lot options at $396/year, proximate/service permits at $786/year, downtown facilities at higher rates and universal-access permits at $2,202/year.
Open the sourced answer →$1,675/month — ; reporting period not stated.
Open the sourced answer →metrics: $395,976 — ; reporting period not stated. ; $424,769 — ; reporting period not stated. ; methodology note: Broad Durham market context only; not a campus-radius appraisal or property-specific valuation.
Open the sourced answer →single-family detached and attached homes; duplexes/multiplex housing where permitted; apartments/multifamily; townhomes; condominiums; accessory dwelling units where UDO standards are met; mixed-use residential
Open the sourced answer →Duke Parking and Transportation states that the annual parking cycle runs August 16 through August 15.
Open the sourced answer →NC DOI advises that homeowners policies can differ materially by dwelling type, construction, condition, claims history and selected coverage.; Standard homeowners policies do not cover flood/rising-water damage; check FEMA flood-zone status and lender requirements for each Durham parcel.; Wind/hail, sewer/drain backup, replacement-cost treatment and property-specific underwriting should be confirmed with the carrier rather than generalized from citywide conditions.
Open the sourced answer →The current Durham UDO defines a family/housekeeping unit so that any number of related individuals may occupy a dwelling, while where some or all occupants are unrelated the total number of unrelated occupants generally may not exceed six, subject to the UDO's stated exceptions and reasonable-accommodation provisions. Building/fire-code occupancy, specialized residential uses and private lease/HOA rules can impose additional property-specific limits.
Open the sourced answer →Durham's current Proactive Rental Inspection Program applies to residential rental properties, but proactive inspections are tied to reasonable cause or City-designated areas and registration is required for owners with 3 or more Minimum Housing Code violations in the prior year unless a compliance-incentive condition applies. It is not a universal annual rental-license requirement for every ordinary rental.
Open the sourced answer →No general City of Durham restriction was identified on who may own ordinary residential property. Ownership does not itself establish a right to a particular rental, occupancy, redevelopment or short-stay use.
Open the sourced answer →Durham's current UDO distinguishes household living on a month-to-month or longer basis from 'Overnight Accommodations' involving stays of less than 30 days. Short-stay legality therefore depends on the property's zoning/use permissions and applicable limited-use standards; the current UDO use table must be checked rather than assuming ordinary household-living authorization covers nightly stays.
Open the sourced answer →Duke's Faculty Advancement resources explicitly point new faculty to local relocation information, dual-career assistance, annual parking and buses/vans. Duke's off-campus housing platform is also available to students, faculty and staff. Relocation incentives may be role-specific rather than universal.
Open the sourced answer →