
Chris Barr
Broker | Team Leader, Keller Williams Legacy
UNC-area real estate guidance



Broker | Team Leader, Keller Williams Legacy
UNC-area real estate guidance


By CollegeHousing.ai · Latest source record
Connect your workplace, start date and household needs to the school’s stated support and your housing decision. This guide organizes 25 sourced questions for University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

UNC Transportation and Parking says the parking permit year begins August 1 and ends July 31.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-10-15. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
move.unc.edu ↗ · Checked 2026-10-15
2664 — Instructional faculty on institution payroll under CDS/IPEDS/AAUP I-1 definitions.; reporting period Fall 2025. Exact I-1 instructional faculty total; full-time 2,118 and part-time 546. Keep UNC Health separate.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Explicitly stated source periods: 2025. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
oira.unc.edu ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
UNC says the employee payroll scale is identified April 1 each year and remains unchanged until the next year; employees must notify Transportation and Parking of a status change that reduces annual salary.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-10-15. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
move.unc.edu ↗ · Checked 2026-10-15
items: name: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill primary campus; type: MAIN_CAMPUS; city: Chapel Hill; state: NC; housing relevance: Primary CollegeHousing.ai Faculty & Staff employment node.; relationship to market: PRIMARY; commute relevance: True; verification note: No inferred coordinates were inserted; official-address/geocoding pass remains separate.; name: UNC Hospitals / UNC School of Medicine academic medical district; type: MEDICAL_CAMPUS; location: Chapel Hill, NC; address: 101 Manning Drive, Chapel Hill, NC; housing relevance: Major academic medical work node; UNC Health hospital workforce remains separately scoped.; relationship to market: MEDICAL_WORK_NODE; commute relevance: True; name: UNC Nutrition Research Institute — North Carolina Research Campus; type: RESEARCH_CAMPUS; location: Kannapolis, NC; address: 500 Laureate Way, Kannapolis, NC 28081; housing relevance: Geographically remote UNC-Chapel Hill research employment node; NRI employees are UNC-Chapel Hill employees.; relationship to market: REMOTE_ADDITIONAL_WORK_NODE; commute relevance: True
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
www.unc.edu ↗ · www.unchealth.org ↗ · uncnri.org ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
items: name: UNC Hospitals / UNC School of Medicine academic medical district; relationship: UNC-Chapel Hill academic medical campus integrated with separately scoped UNC Health system; location: Chapel Hill, NC; address: 101 Manning Drive, Chapel Hill, NC; relocation relevance: Major clinical, academic and research employee node.; note: UNC Health hospital/system employees are not silently folded into university employment.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
www.unchealth.org ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
items: name: UNC Nutrition Research Institute — NC Research Campus; type: RESEARCH_CAMPUS; location: Kannapolis, NC; address: 500 Laureate Way, Kannapolis, NC 28081; housing relevance: Remote UNC-Chapel Hill research work node north of Charlotte.; note: NRI states that it is a unit of UNC-Chapel Hill and that its employees are UNC-Chapel Hill employees.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
uncnri.org ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
items: program name: Postdoctoral Affairs housing/relocation resources; audience: UNC-Chapel Hill postdoctoral scholars/research employees; availability: Official Orange County housing resource includes local housing search links and a Chapel Hill relocation guide.; financial assistance type: Relocation/housing-search assistance; no financial guarantee.; note: A general university-wide relocation reimbursement program was not established in this pass; this verified resource is limited to postdoctoral/research employees.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
research.unc.edu ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
items: ; note: Targeted current official UNC housing, HR and postdoctoral-resource review did not identify a general university-provided faculty or staff housing program. Student housing and off-campus search resources are not reclassified as employee housing.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
myapps.northcarolina.edu ↗ · www.unc.edu ↗ · oira.unc.edu ↗ · www.northcarolina.edu ↗ · www.unchealth.org ↗ · uncnri.org ↗ · uncnri.org ↗ · research.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
items: program name: Office of Postdoctoral Affairs — Orange County Housing Resources; audience: Postdoctoral scholars/research employees and incoming university affiliates; availability: Official resource links to the UNC Off-Campus Housing Portal and local housing-search/relocation resources.; note: This is housing-search assistance, not university-owned employee housing.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
research.unc.edu ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
UNC says deductions are typically based on 24 biweekly or 12 monthly pay periods; the amount owed is divided by the remaining payroll periods in the permit year. Employee permits ineligible for payroll deduction must be paid in full.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-10-15. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
move.unc.edu ↗ · Checked 2026-10-15
items: ; note: Targeted current official UNC employee benefits, housing and relocation review did not identify a current employer-assisted homebuyer/down-payment/mortgage program.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
myapps.northcarolina.edu ↗ · www.unc.edu ↗ · oira.unc.edu ↗ · www.northcarolina.edu ↗ · www.unchealth.org ↗ · uncnri.org ↗ · uncnri.org ↗ · research.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
major transit: name: Chapel Hill Transit / Point-to-Point / regional transit; employee relevance: UNC-Chapel Hill Transportation states local transit options serve students and employees; regional systems and Park-and-Ride connect surrounding communities.; university shuttles: name: Point-to-Point (P2P); employee relevance: University transportation identifies P2P fixed/on-demand services as local transit serving students and employees.; parking context: name: Current Employee Parking; employee relevance: Current employee zoned permit fees are salary-scaled from $350 to $2,250; ALG is $3,000 and All Access/Reserved is $4,780. Permit-year rules and payroll deduction apply.; multi campus considerations: UNC Hospitals/School of Medicine is a major Chapel Hill medical node; NRI in Kannapolis is a remote UNC-Chapel Hill research duty station.; note: No exact commute-time estimates are inferred.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
move.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
name: Downtown Chapel Hill / Franklin-Rosemary core; jurisdiction: Town of Chapel Hill; campus relationship: Downtown Chapel Hill and UNC Campus are both listed by Chapel Hill Transit as major destinations served by most routes. Franklin-Rosemary is also a local historic-district overlay, so exact-property exterior/development work requires overlay review.; housing types: apartments/condominiums; historic single-family/small multifamily; mixed-use residential; audience fit: students; parent buyers; investors; faculty/staff; name: Northside; jurisdiction: Town of Chapel Hill; campus relationship: The Town describes Northside as a centrally located 188-acre neighborhood near UNC and downtown Chapel Hill/Carrboro with significant student-rental demand and conversion of houses to rentals.; housing types: single-family houses; shared/student rentals; small-scale residential; audience fit: students; parent buyers; investors; faculty/staff; name: Glen Lennox; jurisdiction: Town of Chapel Hill; campus relationship: Current Chapel Hill Transit neighborhood/destination tables identify Glen Lennox on routes to UNC and local commercial destinations.; housing types: apartments/multifamily; townhomes; single-family housing; audience fit: students; parent buyers; investors; faculty/staff; name: Meadowmont; jurisdiction: Town of Chapel Hill; campus relationship: Current Chapel Hill Transit identifies Meadowmont and Meadowmont Apartments as destinations on the N route with UNC Campus a system-wide major destination.; housing types: apartments; townhomes; condominiums; single-family homes; audience fit: students; parent buyers; investors; faculty/staff; name: Southern Village; jurisdiction: Town of Chapel Hill; campus relationship: Southern Village is a current Chapel Hill Transit neighborhood and park-and-ride location with service into the UNC-oriented fare-free network.; housing types: apartments; townhomes; condominiums; single-family homes; audience fit: students; parent buyers; investors; faculty/staff; name: 27514 / 27516 market geographies; jurisdiction: Chapel Hill / Orange County; campus relationship: ZIP-level market geographies used for representative rent/value benchmarks around UNC; ZIPs are not official neighborhoods and exact municipal boundaries must be checked.; housing types: single-family homes; apartments/multifamily; townhomes; condominiums; audience fit: parent buyers; investors; faculty/staff
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.orangecountync.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
service: Chapel Hill Transit; details: Current Town service covers Chapel Hill, Carrboro and UNC communities with 21 routes, seven days/week, and has operated fare-free for more than 20 years through the Town/Carrboro/UNC partnership.; service: UNC / neighborhood connectivity; details: UNC Campus and Downtown Chapel Hill are listed as destinations served by most routes; current tables also identify Northside, Glen Lennox, Meadowmont and Southern Village, plus numerous apartment communities, as served destinations.; service: Town Park-and-Ride; details: Fixed-route service is fare-free. Town-operated park-and-ride passes are currently $2 daily, $21 monthly or $250 annually; overnight parking is not permitted.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.orangecountync.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
student rules: UNC distributes student parking through class/residence-based lottery and waitlist processes. For the current 2026-27 permit year, student Park-and-Ride/Motorcycle-type permits are $200 full year / $158 academic year / $42 summer; RR Estes is $260 academic year; zone student permits are $512 full year / $405 academic year / $107 summer. Permit eligibility and exact lots must be checked in MyPark.; employee rules: UNC employee parking is managed by departments and uses virtual permits. Current zoned annual fees are salary-scaled from $350 for salaries under $40,000 to $2,250 for salaries over $200,000; ALG is $3,000 and All Access Reserved is $4,780. Employees parking three days/week or fewer may use eligible daily options first-come/first-served.; property rules: Town Housing Choices parking standards vary by housing form. In 16 residential parking districts, permit counts may not exceed licensed vehicles registered to the address and no more than five permits per lot. Off-campus deeded/assigned/guest parking and street eligibility remain property-specific.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Explicitly stated source periods: 2026-27. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.orangecountync.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
1559 — ; reporting period not stated. ; 2197 — ; reporting period not stated.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.orangecountync.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
651010 — ; reporting period not stated. ; 608218 — ; reporting period not stated.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.orangecountync.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
single-family houses; accessory apartments / ADUs; cottages; two-family attached or detached housing; three- and four-family housing where zoning/overlays permit; apartments and larger multifamily; townhomes; condominiums; mixed-use residential
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.orangecountync.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
UNC’s current pricing page says employee parking permits are prorated weekly.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-10-15. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
move.unc.edu ↗ · Checked 2026-10-15
North Carolina DOI states standard homeowners policies do not cover flood/rising-water damage; evaluate separate flood coverage and lender requirements for the exact parcel even outside mapped floodplains.; NC DOI notes windstorm/hail and other coverages can depend on policy/underwriting terms; review exclusions, deductibles and endorsements for the exact property.; Chapel Hill's Resource Conservation District and parcel-specific flood/stream conditions affect site risk and development diligence but do not by themselves determine insurance coverage.; Building type, age/condition, roof, claims history, replacement cost, liability exposure and any condo/HOA master policy materially affect underwriting.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.orangecountync.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
Current Chapel Hill Housing Choices standards generally cap the cited housing forms at four unrelated persons: up to four unrelated people total in a same-lot single-family house + accessory apartment; up to four in a cottage and four in the single-family house; and no more than four unrelated persons per unit in two-, three- and four-family housing. Detached primary/accessory units on separate approved sublots may each house up to four unrelated persons.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.orangecountync.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
North Carolina G.S. 160D-1207 generally prohibits a local government from requiring a universal permit/permission or rental-property registration under Articles 11/12 to lease residential property, subject to specified problem-property exceptions; targeted inspections are separately limited by statute.; Chapel Hill still enforces minimum-housing, zoning, over-occupancy, parking, unapproved-use and STR violations; ordinary long-term rentals remain subject to current zoning/use and housing/building-code requirements.; Neighborhood Conservation Districts, historic overlays and private HOA/condo/deed restrictions can impose additional property-specific constraints. Do not treat the separate STR Zoning Compliance Permit as a universal long-term rental license.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.orangecountync.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
The Town explicitly states it does not have the ability to regulate ownership under the Housing Choices initiative.; Restrictive covenants/HOA agreements are private contracts, are not enforced by the Town, and can be more restrictive than the LUMO; the Town directs owners to the applicable county Register of Deeds for recorded covenants.; Exact title, deed/condominium/HOA restrictions, zoning/overlay status, financing and tax classification remain property-specific.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.orangecountync.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
Chapel Hill defines STR as compensated rental for less than 30 days. A primary-residence STR requires the operator to live on site at least 183 days/year and is permitted in almost all zoning districts; a dedicated STR is limited to commercial and mixed-use zoning districts. A Zoning Compliance/STR permit is required when a home is rented more than 14 days/year, and the assigned permit number must appear in advertising.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.orangecountync.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
For incoming faculty/staff, Chapel Hill Transit directly serves UNC and is fare-free; Northside, Glen Lennox, Meadowmont and Southern Village are current transit-listed neighborhoods that can be screened for commute fit.; UNC employee parking is department-managed and salary-scaled, so transit proximity and parking availability/cost should be compared before selecting housing.; 27514 and 27516 show materially different current rent/value benchmarks; these ZIP metrics are only starting points for relocation budgeting.; Carrboro is a separate municipality. Any property there requires a separate Carrboro legal/tax/parking/STR review rather than applying this Chapel Hill packet.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.orangecountync.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.ncleg.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · www.chapelhillnc.gov ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · move.unc.edu ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
University housing information is organized from the linked sources, with its original review date shown. Rates, deadlines and availability can change; use the applicable academic year and check the source before committing. CollegeHousing.ai is independent of University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Chris Barr, Broker | Team Leader at Keller Williams Legacy, is the local real estate contact. Matt Dean, NEXA Lending, NMLS #227603, is the financing contact.
Buy. Rent. Finance. Near Campus.
We use AI to route intent, not replace professionals.