
Chris Barr
Broker | Team Leader, Keller Williams Legacy
Duke-area real estate guidance



Broker | Team Leader, Keller Williams Legacy
Duke-area real estate guidance


By CollegeHousing.ai · Latest source record
Connect your workplace, start date and household needs to the school’s stated support and your housing decision. This guide organizes 25 sourced questions for Duke University.

17634 — All Duke University faculty and staff; excludes Duke University Health System employees; reporting period November 1, 2025. Current Factbook table was visually inspected; DUHS is explicitly excluded.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Explicitly stated source periods: 2025. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
ir.provost.duke.edu ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
4427 — All faculty; reporting period November 1, 2025.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Explicitly stated source periods: 2025. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
ir.provost.duke.edu ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
13207 — Staff; reporting period November 1, 2025.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Explicitly stated source periods: 2025. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
ir.provost.duke.edu ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
items: name: Duke University primary campus; type: MAIN_CAMPUS; city: Durham; state: NC; housing relevance: Primary CollegeHousing.ai Faculty & Staff employment node.; relationship to market: PRIMARY; commute relevance: True; verification note: No inferred coordinates were inserted; official-address/geocoding pass remains separate.; name: Duke Medical Center; type: MEDICAL_CAMPUS; location: Durham, NC; housing relevance: Major academic medical work node; commute relevance: True; name: East Campus; type: ADDITIONAL_CAMPUS; location: Durham, NC; housing relevance: Major campus employment node; commute relevance: True; name: West Campus; type: ADDITIONAL_CAMPUS; location: Durham, NC; housing relevance: Major campus employment node; commute relevance: True
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
duke.edu ↗ · facts.duke.edu ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
items: name: Duke Medical Center; relationship: university academic medicine + separately identified Duke Health entities; location: Durham, NC; relocation relevance: Material employee/clinical/research/professional-school housing access node.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
facts.duke.edu ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
items: ; note: Targeted current review found research concentrated across Duke's existing campus/medical nodes; no separate Duke-owned research campus/park requiring an additional housing commute node was identified.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
ir.provost.duke.edu ↗ · dhtsws01.duhs.duke.edu ↗ · facts.duke.edu ↗ · duke.edu ↗ · finance.duke.edu ↗ · undergrad.duke.edu ↗ · students.duke.edu ↗ · offcampushousing.students.duke.edu ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
items: program name: Moving & Relocation reimbursement; audience: New Duke University or Duke University Health System faculty/staff when approved; eligibility: Under certain conditions and with appropriate approval, hiring departments/schools may reimburse moving costs.; availability: Current Finance policy; financial assistance type: Taxable relocation/moving supplemental payroll payment; discretionary.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
finance.duke.edu ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
items: program name: Faculty-in-Residence; audience: Selected Duke faculty; current availability: 2026-27 program has 12 faculty members living in East Campus residential apartments/residence halls.; ownership type: University residential housing tied to Faculty-in-Residence role.; program name: Residence Coordinator live-in housing; audience: Professional Residence Coordinators; current availability: Role-specific live-in professional staff housing in residence halls/quads.; ownership type: University residential housing tied to Housing employment.; note: Both programs are role-specific; they do not establish general employee housing entitlement.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Explicitly stated source periods: 2026-27. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
undergrad.duke.edu ↗ · students.duke.edu ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
items: program name: Duke Off-Campus Housing Website; audience: Students, faculty, staff and visiting scholars; availability: Current central housing-search resource; guest registration available for incoming faculty/staff.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
offcampushousing.students.duke.edu ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
items: program name: Duke Off-Campus Visiting Scholar / short-term furnished housing resources; audience: Faculty/staff and visiting scholars; availability: Current Duke off-campus portal explicitly directs users to short-term/furnished housing resources and current faculty/staff listings.; university owned: False; note: Housing-search resource; not guaranteed university-owned temporary housing.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
offcampushousing.students.duke.edu ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
Duke Finance says approved relocation or moving payments for new faculty and staff are issued as supplemental payroll payments rather than direct payments to vendors; the policy treats those payments as taxable income.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-10-15. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
finance.duke.edu ↗ · Checked 2026-10-15
major transit: ; university shuttles: ; parking context: ; multi campus considerations: name: Duke Medical Center; location: Durham, NC; type: MEDICAL_CAMPUS; name: East Campus; location: Durham, NC; type: ADDITIONAL_CAMPUS; name: West Campus; location: Durham, NC; type: ADDITIONAL_CAMPUS; note: No exact neighborhood-to-campus travel times are stored; the site mapping layer should calculate 10/20/30-minute estimates.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
ir.provost.duke.edu ↗ · dhtsws01.duhs.duke.edu ↗ · facts.duke.edu ↗ · duke.edu ↗ · finance.duke.edu ↗ · undergrad.duke.edu ↗ · students.duke.edu ↗ · offcampushousing.students.duke.edu ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
name: Erwin / LaSalle; jurisdiction: City of Durham; campus relationship: Duke identifies Erwin/LaSalle as the closest off-campus neighborhood to West Campus and notes direct proximity to Duke bus service.; housing types: apartments; condominiums; townhomes; single-family homes; audience fit: students; parent buyers; investors; faculty/staff; name: Trinity Heights / Duke East Campus; jurisdiction: City of Durham; campus relationship: Duke identifies Trinity Heights as abutting East Campus with historic student rental homes and access to the C1 bus.; housing types: single-family homes; duplexes; small multifamily; apartments; audience fit: students; parent buyers; investors; faculty/staff; name: Old West Durham / Ninth Street; jurisdiction: City of Durham; campus relationship: Current Duke/Zillow market geography west of East Campus and near Duke West Campus; useful for campus-proximate housing analysis, not a parcel-level zoning conclusion.; housing types: single-family homes; duplexes; apartments; mixed-use residential; audience fit: students; parent buyers; investors; faculty/staff; name: Downtown Durham / West End / Burch Avenue; jurisdiction: City of Durham; campus relationship: Current Duke and Zillow sources identify these nearby urban neighborhoods as practical off-campus housing geographies with access to Duke/local transit.; housing types: apartments; condominiums; single-family homes; mixed-use residential; audience fit: students; investors; faculty/staff; relocating households
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
www.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · www.durhamnc.gov ↗ · dconc.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · students.duke.edu ↗ · offcampushousing.students.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · facultyadvancement.duke.edu ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · www.redfin.com ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
Duke operates campus bus/shuttle routes including C1 East-West and LaSalle Loop. The Fall 2026 C1 schedule began August 10, 2026 with East-West service throughout the day, and Duke's GoPass provides unlimited GoDurham, GoTriangle and GoRaleigh rides to students and eligible faculty/staff.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Explicitly stated source periods: 2026. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
www.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · www.durhamnc.gov ↗ · dconc.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · students.duke.edu ↗ · offcampushousing.students.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · facultyadvancement.duke.edu ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · www.redfin.com ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
Duke publishes 2026-27 parking permit classes and rates by facility/proximity. Examples include remote-rate permits at $243/year, surface-lot options at $396/year, proximate/service permits at $786/year, downtown facilities at higher rates and universal-access permits at $2,202/year.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Explicitly stated source periods: 2026-27. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
www.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · www.durhamnc.gov ↗ · dconc.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · students.duke.edu ↗ · offcampushousing.students.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · facultyadvancement.duke.edu ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · www.redfin.com ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
$1,675/month — ; reporting period not stated.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
www.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · www.durhamnc.gov ↗ · dconc.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · students.duke.edu ↗ · offcampushousing.students.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · facultyadvancement.duke.edu ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · www.redfin.com ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
metrics: $395,976 — ; reporting period not stated. ; $424,769 — ; reporting period not stated. ; methodology note: Broad Durham market context only; not a campus-radius appraisal or property-specific valuation.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
www.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · www.durhamnc.gov ↗ · dconc.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · students.duke.edu ↗ · offcampushousing.students.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · facultyadvancement.duke.edu ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · www.redfin.com ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
single-family detached and attached homes; duplexes/multiplex housing where permitted; apartments/multifamily; townhomes; condominiums; accessory dwelling units where UDO standards are met; mixed-use residential
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
www.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · www.durhamnc.gov ↗ · dconc.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · students.duke.edu ↗ · offcampushousing.students.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · facultyadvancement.duke.edu ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · www.redfin.com ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
Duke Parking and Transportation states that the annual parking cycle runs August 16 through August 15.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-10-15. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
parking.duke.edu ↗ · Checked 2026-10-15
NC DOI advises that homeowners policies can differ materially by dwelling type, construction, condition, claims history and selected coverage.; Standard homeowners policies do not cover flood/rising-water damage; check FEMA flood-zone status and lender requirements for each Durham parcel.; Wind/hail, sewer/drain backup, replacement-cost treatment and property-specific underwriting should be confirmed with the carrier rather than generalized from citywide conditions.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
www.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · www.durhamnc.gov ↗ · dconc.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · students.duke.edu ↗ · offcampushousing.students.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · facultyadvancement.duke.edu ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · www.redfin.com ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
The current Durham UDO defines a family/housekeeping unit so that any number of related individuals may occupy a dwelling, while where some or all occupants are unrelated the total number of unrelated occupants generally may not exceed six, subject to the UDO's stated exceptions and reasonable-accommodation provisions. Building/fire-code occupancy, specialized residential uses and private lease/HOA rules can impose additional property-specific limits.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
www.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · www.durhamnc.gov ↗ · dconc.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · students.duke.edu ↗ · offcampushousing.students.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · facultyadvancement.duke.edu ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · www.redfin.com ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
Durham's current Proactive Rental Inspection Program applies to residential rental properties, but proactive inspections are tied to reasonable cause or City-designated areas and registration is required for owners with 3 or more Minimum Housing Code violations in the prior year unless a compliance-incentive condition applies. It is not a universal annual rental-license requirement for every ordinary rental.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
www.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · www.durhamnc.gov ↗ · dconc.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · students.duke.edu ↗ · offcampushousing.students.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · facultyadvancement.duke.edu ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · www.redfin.com ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
No general City of Durham restriction was identified on who may own ordinary residential property. Ownership does not itself establish a right to a particular rental, occupancy, redevelopment or short-stay use.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
www.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · www.durhamnc.gov ↗ · dconc.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · students.duke.edu ↗ · offcampushousing.students.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · facultyadvancement.duke.edu ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · www.redfin.com ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
Durham's current UDO distinguishes household living on a month-to-month or longer basis from 'Overnight Accommodations' involving stays of less than 30 days. Short-stay legality therefore depends on the property's zoning/use permissions and applicable limited-use standards; the current UDO use table must be checked rather than assuming ordinary household-living authorization covers nightly stays.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
www.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · www.durhamnc.gov ↗ · dconc.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · students.duke.edu ↗ · offcampushousing.students.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · facultyadvancement.duke.edu ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · www.redfin.com ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
Duke's Faculty Advancement resources explicitly point new faculty to local relocation information, dual-career assistance, annual parking and buses/vans. Duke's off-campus housing platform is also available to students, faculty and staff. Relocation incentives may be role-specific rather than universal.
Source guidance recorded on 2026-08-29. Confirm the applicable policy year, cohort and property jurisdiction before relying on time-sensitive facts.
www.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · udo.durhamnc.gov ↗ · www.durhamnc.gov ↗ · dconc.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · www.ncdoi.gov ↗ · students.duke.edu ↗ · offcampushousing.students.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · parking.duke.edu ↗ · facultyadvancement.duke.edu ↗ · www.zillow.com ↗ · www.redfin.com ↗ · Checked 2026-08-29
University housing information is organized from the linked sources, with its original review date shown. Rates, deadlines and availability can change; use the applicable academic year and check the source before committing. CollegeHousing.ai is independent of Duke University.
Chris Barr, Broker | Team Leader at Keller Williams Legacy, is the local real estate contact. Matt Dean, NEXA Lending, NMLS #227603, is the financing contact.
Buy. Rent. Finance. Near Campus.
We use AI to route intent, not replace professionals.